eatAspen.com

Aspen, Colorado's local dining guide.

eatAspen.com

Aspen, Colorado's local dining guide.

Pinon's

User Reviews

Emery M.

Aspen, Colorado

August 15, 2012
In between two banks and a clothing store, Pinions is an interesting place for a well-to-do restaurant. Walking through the double, glass doors, I entered a modern, carpeted stairway surrounded by modern welded lamps and Peter Lik style photographs on the walls. At the top, I found myself in a significantly larger dining room complete with a bar and a doorway to a beautiful sunlit patio. The dining room was set elegantly with warm woods lining the structure and classic white table cloths topped with glittering wine glasses. A well-dressed man slowly walked towards me. I asked for a table for one and he led me to a table in the back corner. He quickly sped off to some important matters regarding the night's dinner service. Soon after, a smiling young man handed me a leather bound menu and politely took my drink order. Naturally I chose an Arnold Palmer, and then looked through the menu. The menu had few choices on it, carefully selected and full of variety. I contested between a classic New York Strip, or the Herb Crusted Colorado Trout. The trout won. My waiter took my order and disappeared into the vast sea of wine glasses. I looked through my window towards the beautiful Aspen Mountain. It was the time of day where the sun hits it directly, causing the lime-green of the grass and trees to glow. I was just starting to think how lonely the restaurant was without anyone I knew when the waiter appeared with my dish. The trout looked awesome. The herbs were colorful, and the fish was a beautiful almost salmon-like pink. It was complemented nicely with a handful of steamed vegetables. As I took the first bite, it brought back memories of fishing with friends, and bringing them home for dinner. The fish was light, elegant, and incredibly tasty. The herbs created a crunchy, flaky first impression, which turned into a luscious, delicious trout finish. The spring vegetables were a nice complement, which included fresh grilled zucchini. All in all, Pinons is a fantastic restaurant. The atmosphere is a 5/5 for a beautiful, elegant, modern setting that feels classy and homey at the same time. The service was polite, kind, and clean. I really enjoyed being served by them. 5/5. The cost was incredibly pricy, but for the decor, the fantastic food, and the overall experience, I feel it is justified. The food was great, really, really great. The portions were perfectly sized, the plating of the dishes looked amazing, and everything was cooked to perfection. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at PiƱons, and I hope to return soon, with some hungry, hungry friends. Read more reviews by Emery

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

aspen eater

Aspen

August 6, 2012
Pinons is a great spot for mostly continental fare. We had the asparagus salad and the trout. Both were absolutely delicious! Pinons always serves more than one veggie side with their entrees - nice. They have a varied wine list with pretty reasonable prices. The staff there are a great group of people too. They all seem to work well together and the service is always seamless. Put Pinons on your list of must-go-to restaurants here in town. No wonder they've been a staple in Aspen's dining scene for well over 20 years!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Sheryl B.

Basalt, CO

January 25, 2010
Pinons is one of our favorites and we make sure to hit it in both summer and winter. The bar menu is one of the best deals on the Aspen restaurant scene: large portions and only $35 for two courses. We love how the owners support the local community, and of course, we LOVE the food! Duck quesadillas are the family favorite!! I have and continue to turn on locals and visitors alike to Pinons.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Gretchen C.

Basalt

January 20, 2010
We recently went to Pinons with some friends from NYC and San Francisco. As always, it was a fantastic experience. My husband repeatedly commented on how melt-in-your mouth his lamb was. Our friends go to Pinons every visit, and this year they went twice!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Mark Sisson

Malibu

December 28, 2009
Love everything about Pinons and we try to eat there at least twice every time we visit Aspen. Only complaint is that the menu is so full of awesome dishes, it's hard to choose sometimes.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Stefanie

NY

December 15, 2009
Pinons is on our-absolute-must-go-to restaurant!!! The food is excellent! You won't be disappointed!!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Amikam R.

Seattle, WA

September 16, 2009
Pinons occupies an elegant room on the second floor of a commercial building. There's also seating outside. We were two for dinner on a Wednesday and a Sunday. The menu is big enough and the wine list huge - but the choice of wines by the glass is rather anemic. There's also a nice prix fixe menu for $38. We had the prix fixe menu on Wednesday and ordered a la carte on Sunday. The white asparagus soup was very good, the salad also very good. The NZ lamb was OK and the trout good. The jasmine rice could have been replaced with something tastier. The Colorado lamb - from the regular menu - was much better than its NZ counterpart on the prix fixe menu. The sole (a special on the regular menu) was good and overpriced at $49. The service comes in waves, after some attention they disappear only to reappear later. Water had to be asked for. The uneven service is the reason for the three stars. Food-wise this was a better place than the other restaurants we have been to in Aspen.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Veronica K.

Los Angeles

August 25, 2009
I ate the Buffalo and was stunned at how tender, tasty (absolutely not gamey as I had remembered from past experiences elsewhere) absolutely delicious it was. I loved the ambiance and the service was personal, I felt as if I were a regular even though I live in Los Angeles and only eat here when I visit on occasion. I have only had wonderful meals here and always highly recommend it to whomever is going to Aspen!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Steve D.

Aspen, CO

March 27, 2009
While I don't eat there often, every time I do I am reminded of what a truly fine restaurant is like. I ate there just last night and the food was fantastic as was the service! I showed up on crutches (foot injury) and was instantly helped by no less than five staff, including the manager. After something like 30 years, still one of Aspen's best.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

September 12, 2008
Off Season Special Time! We went to Pinons one Monday this off season and had the bar menu. It was great! We both dressed up for this classy place and went earlier to the bar. I got a glass of wine, the Insalata Caprese Salad, and the special fish for my entree. It was delicious! I over ate because I couldn't stop! The service was excellent! I even dropped my fork and two seconds later they gave me a new one! Everyone was super nice and I enjoyed the entire dinning experience. This is my second time eating at Pinons and both times have been awesome.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Steve D.

July 15, 1948
Last month we had friends visiting in town, and they wanted to treat us to dinner at Pinons, and what a treat it was. I have dined there several times over the many years they have been in town, and every time the meal is fantastic! Without a doubt, one of Aspens very finest.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking