eatAspen

Spilling the salt since 2007

Let's eat!

eatAspen Spilling the salt since 2007 Let's eat!

39 Degrees

John T. (10+ Reviews)

July 21, 2008
39 Degrees in the Sky Hotel (a Kimpton property) is not new but was new to us. Although I go by it every morning on my limpies in Aspen, I've never noticed the menu until today. We had a more than alright lunch there. Colette had what they called a menage a trois: OK gazpacho, fine mixed salad and a terrific grilled cheese panini with pesto while I had fried calamari with nice aioli sauce and salad greens with pickled lengthwise sliced carrots that were divine. Our bill with just tap water, before tip = $26.0639 More at eGullet

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

520 Grill

Katy

snowmass

May 20, 2010
Awesome! Finally a new lunch option for locals. I $7 on the Bison burger with homemade fries and was full all day.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Acquolina Trattoria & Pizzeria

Kim

Aspen

December 12, 2013
When will Aspen realize that crammed in tables and super loud music is NOT everyone's cup of tea. Especially if you're paying ridiculous prices. We were charged $8 for some warmed up pita bread (the salmon tartare comes with nothing to eat it with)

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Ajax Donuts at Popcorn Wagon

aspensfinest

Aspen

March 20, 2012
Gyros! Cheesesteaks! amazing.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Ajax Tavern

M.J.

March 11, 2008
My god, the scene here! It's Aspen, and it's famous, I guess. But still, the scene. I've seen it written up so many times, I had to see what the hell it was all about. Elbow past the posers, pretty people, millionaires, etc. Grab a table. It's even worth a little bit of a wait. Here's why - 1. the location - wow. literally ....mountainside. sun, sun, sun, a huge outdoor deck and an international crowd. i felt like i died and went back to the slopes in Europe - really not a bad thing. 2. the menu - it's an excellent, authentic french bistro menu. well executed. quality ingredients. pretty damn good. 3. the service - i'm thinking not so much crappy as international with a bit of potential for language barrier issues - but this is Aspen, this is who works here. it makes it interesting. suck it up order the cheese fondue and re-apply your SPF, darling.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Annette's Mt. Bake Shop

Pet Shop Boys

Aspen, CO

February 21, 2012
The Secret Sandwich is really awesome. If you haven't tried it, you must. Made with great bread and meats and the olive tapenade really tops it off.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Asie Restaurant

Satisfied Customer

February 29, 2008
Asie take out was generally good quality. The Pad Thai was hot, well seasoned, and ingredients tasted fresh, and contained and excellent quantity of quality shrimp . Delivery was ten minutes later than the committed time when we called in the order. Overall an experience I would definitely repeat.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Aspen Brewing Company

KK

Aspen

January 12, 2010
Great beer and good fun. Dogs are welcome, too. It is a treat on a sunny day to walk right over and hang with friends in the casual atmosphere!!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Aspen Over Easy

ACH

Aspen

January 13, 2012
We get breakfast for our offic eon Firdays and have picked up from here 3 times. It's been delicous and affordbale. Definitely worth a try. Aspen needs a good breakfast spot- support them!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Bangkok Happy Bowl

Nick

Aspen

January 30, 2012
Fresh, authentic Thai food...good service (even though they were VERY busy), and well designed space...Destined to become a hot spot for lunch and dinner in Aspen for those craving more ethnic food... **Restaurant Response** Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We appreciate your being our first review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience! - Kirk (owner)

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

bb's

Bob A.

New York

January 12, 2011
Love to try new places and I wasn't disappointed with BB's. I went for Breakfast as I have never found a place in Aspen I love. The whole experience was excellent – what I ordered was delicious (pulled pork, poached egg and salsa on an English muffin) and there was lots of other stuff that tempted me. The space is really nice & comfortable, casual but unique. Wish is was in town a few more days because I would definitely try lunch and dinner. I will be back! FYI – while food is great, they don't take themselves overly seriously as uniform was jeans, white button down, apron and Converse All Stars!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Belly Up Aspen

Greg H.

Murrieta, Ca

November 28, 2009
I did not have a great experience here at all. That said, I will give it another try because it does have potential. First the server said she had to take my credit card even though I said I would be paying cash. Come to find out two days later, that my credit card was charged not ones, but twice. After several calls to my credit card co., it was finally reversed. The wings were affordable and good. The burger was expensive and not good. It was over cooked with a small patty. The service was OK, but the sever was not very bright. When I paid the bill with cash, she brought back credit card receipts and forgot my change. Maybe she thought I was giving her a 50% tip, but I doubt it. I asked her for my change and shewasn'tt happy about it and finally complied. I reluctantly left her an 18% tip for a party of three. Hopefully she'll use it on some community college classes.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Big Wrap

little t

Kingston MA

June 2, 2001
I moved away from Aspen in 2002 but still dream about their tofu tacos... and wicked cheap! mmmm

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Bonnie's

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

January 10, 2009
We stopped at Bonnie's around 11am on Saturday for a little treat. Bonnie's has one of the best selections of desserts on Ajax mountain. We were going to share one dessert but we couldn't decide. I picked the banana cream pie with chocolate and my friend picked the plum cake. Both were delicious and we washed it down with hot spiced wine! Yummy! I think Bonnie's would be a great place for cheese and wine lunch. They have the cheese plater with grapes already prepared and a selection of wines.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Boogie's Diner

Anonymous

August 16, 2008
Good burgers, fun for kids.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Brexi Brasserie

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

Aspen

February 7, 2009
I went to the opening of Brexi on Saturday. We only went for a cocktail to check out the menu and the scene. I loved the atmosphere and the layout of Brexi. The Aspen restaurant sits on a corner with plenty of windows. I can't wait to try Brexi in the summer. The windows and doors can be thrown open for great dining outside! We both had cocktails which were promptly served. We checked out the menu and noticed a lack of vegetarian meals, but some delicious looking fish dishes. The place eventually filled up with many locals also checking out the new Aspen restaurant. I can't wait to try the food in a couple of weeks, once all the kinks are out!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Brunelleschi's

Hip Hockey Jock

March 9, 2008
I dropped into Brunelleschi's again last week to enjoy one of their great, light pizzas. We crashed the scene with half the MP2's (that's Mother Puckers for short) hockey team, following a Saturday night win - desirous of beer and some great fare. The place was jammed at 9 p.m. The hostess was very accommodating in squeezing us in and adjoining tables as they became available. The pizzas here are thin crusted and a meal for one. Though a tad pricey at $15, it's worth it. My favorite pizza is the Basil Pesto, which comes with spinach, pine nuts and a tangy Gorgonzola cheese. Yum! I also hear the Paisano, ordered by several of my mates is very tasty. If you want a salad, I highly recommend the Portobello - grilled with roasted red peppers and goat cheese on greens. There's a lively local bar scene here as well. If you're a basketball fan visiting town, beware! The owner Gil is a hockey player, and this is a hockey bar. Chill out, catch an AVs game and meet some Aspen locals who are into more than just skiing.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Bumps

Ski Beam

December 26, 2008
First meal of the season at Bumps. Went with a 1/2 order of the Rigatoni with Tomato, Mozzarella, and Feta. It was great. Now the key is trying not to get it every time I eat there.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Butcher's Block Deli

BDU50

September 30, 2008
Our first trip to Aspen and we had sticker shock! Restaurants were a little more pricey than what we were use to. The Butcher Block is not cheap either, but you get good quality food and great service for your money. They are an old fashioned Deli and meat market. You can get cookies, salads and drinks galore to go with your sandwich. The meats and seafood looked wonderful, wish we had a kitchen during our stay. If it weren't for them, The Wienerstube and The Hickory House we might have starved! Definately go see any of them if you go to Aspen!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Cache Cache

Leslie R.

April 3, 2007
I am still thinking longingly about how flat-out delicious this meal was. The restaurant itself was a bit of a zoo, uppity people getting all bent that they they had to wait for tables, and a glance at the menu revealed that one could potentially blow a lot of money in a dining experience here. However, we had received the insider tip to just eat at the bar, which was a dramatically different beast. The handful of high top tables were already full, so we bellied up to the bar. The bartender was slammed but still amazingly friendly, helpful, and eager to set us up with solidly poured glasses of wine. While the bar menu was small (about six entrees?) the prices were about a third of the price of the regular menu, which we had the option to order from as well. When our dishes arrived, both of us were blown away by how amazing everything tasted! The capellini with wild mushrooms, leeks and truffle oil literally did a little dance around my mouth, and my friend couldn't stop raving about her pork chops. Leaving with full, happy bellies for only $14 a plate, in ASPEN? A memorable experience indeed.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Campo de Fiori

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

December 20, 2008
Last night we walked into a crowded and buzzing Campo. I had never eaten here and looked at the bar and thought, No way can we get a seat! They quickly found us two seats at the bar. We ordered a lovely appetizers of grilled artichoke hearts, mushrooms, and butternut squash. It was so simple but delicious! Yummy! I could have had another one of those! My companion wanted to try the polenta as a side dish and that came out at the same time! It was so rich and cheesy! We split a main pasta dish which had the freshest noodles I've tasted in a while, mixed with mushrooms and sundried tomatos. If you are looking for a restaurant with great food and great atmosphere this is the place! If you want a quieter restaurant with more room, look else where.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Caribou Club

M Bassi

Carbondale

December 4, 2010
I celebrated my anniversary at the Caribou Club. A member invited us in to have a special meal. It was AMAZING! The bartender gave us a tour of the place and told us about the art on the walls, Sommelier suggested incredible wine and the menu was so delicious it was hard to choose. After dinner we dance the meal off, and drank champagne. It was a perfect celebration. Thank you caribou Club!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Casa Tua

William

Washington DC

January 15, 2011
Food was decent at best. Service again, decent. I had great expectations but was sadly let down. WAY over priced. Extremely pretentious surroundings as well as the management. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone with all the wonderful choices in Aspen. Do yourself a fovor and skip it!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Chefs Club by FOOD & WINE

Andy Israel

Aspen & Detroit

February 9, 2013
We started with a beautiful portion of Yellow Fin Tuna with Black Trumpet Mushrooms, topped with a pear vanilla puree served with lavash. It was an awesome way to begin our meal and is highly recommended. We also shared Chef Club's famous Black Truffle and Artichoke en Papier which was fantastic. As if that were not enough to get our taste buds stimulated the executive chef insisted that we try the Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with a Jalapeno Doughnut. It was rich and delightful and the Jalapeno Doughnut is to die for. The Properly Butchered Rib Steak with Pommes frites melts in your mouth. The 28 day Prime dry-aged beef was prepared masterfully and it melted in our mouths. We also split a huge portion of Gulf Red Grouper with Hen-of-the-Woods Mushrooms, Tatsoi and Savory Creme Anglaise. We supplemented our meal with... read more on AspenSpin!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

CliffHouse

Edi (10+ Reviews)

Aspen, CO

February 10, 2009
The Cliffhouse has undergone some improvements for the better in the food offerings. The mongolina grill which has always been good has added some extra finish toppings making it better. The patio has one of the best views in the valley looking toward Pyramid Peak.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Cloud Nine

Daniel F.

Houston, TX

February 20, 2009
Went to Cloud 9 today for lunch and it was by FAR the best on-the-mountain dining experience I have ever had. Think of your typical lunch-time dining for a ski day. You walk in, you have to scour for 20 minutes for an open table, then wait in line for another 10 minutes and wait for them to cook your food, and then pay a fortune for food that isn't all that great. Cloud 9 is a completely different experience. The restaurant, which is located at the top of the Cloud 9 Lift in Aspen Highlands, is perched perfectly with a view of the Rocky Mountains. We made reservations for 3 through our hotel the night before, and couldn't have been more excited. The building seats maybe 25 people, and the tables are right next to each other. It is a very cozy situation haha! The inside of the restaurant looked identical to the inside of an Austrian or Swiss mountain restaurant. Very authentic! The waiter pours you a bottle of water immediately as you sit down. The menu is limited, which normally would bother me but EVERYTHING on the menu looked so good. On the left hand side of the menu are the daily specials, and the right side has specials for every day of the week. I had the Beef Pie, my sister had the salmon and my bro-in-law had the lamb sausages. INCREDIBLE!! For dessert we all split the apply cobbler with ice cream. Let me tell you: it was sooooo impossible to get back on to the mountain after that meal because we were so stuffed! The waiter even took pictures of us outside in front of the mountains with my camera after the meal. Amazing, and I can't wait to go back!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

CP Burger

Julie

Snowmass

October 12, 2010
Awesome burger/shake/fries!!! It's finally open!! Great, fresh food.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Creperie du Village

Samantha

Aspen

December 17, 2011
Had lunch there, I got the mushroom crepe and my husband had the club. Both were excellent, the hot chocolate was the real thing and so yummy. Great atmosphere, very cozy, staff was attentive and nice. Defiantly going again soon, Gotta try the dessert.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Domino's Pizza

Dreamer (10+ Reviews)

Aspen, CO

January 7, 2009
Dominos puts out your standard pie. Not the best but you do know what to expect. Delivery times are usually respectable.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

El Rincon

John

Aspen

June 9, 2014
Terrible. This used to be the Cantina - a great basic Mexican place. Now it has a weird fusion menu that is more expensive, much smaller, they got rid of most of the seating, and it seems darker and less clean. In the interest of full disclosure we left before ordering once we saw the menu (which looked like it just came out of an ink-jet printer by the way). We did have a couple of chips and some salsa that was average.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Ellina

Pickett

Woody Creek

December 12, 2009
We almost couldn't wait 'til Ellina opened. Three of us had wonderful meals. I adore mussels and that was the special appetizer that night. Did you know I was coming? The wine selection was excellent. The service was attentive without being over the top. I hated where we were seated, but that was my fault for not saying something as we were shown the table. My direct line of sight was into the kitchen ... but that gave me the option of seeing the inner workings of a fine restaurant. Very smooth.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Finbarr's Irish Pub

Darcy

Aspen

December 7, 2011
Boy did Aspen need this place!! Food, service, atmosphere and fun factor all top notch!! The bartenders were super friendly and their was NO waiting for a drink! The food was interesting and Yummy! The owner Denis, was approachable, informative and really friendly as well. This is going to be the place to go this winter for sure...

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Francesca's Homemade Pasta

Sergio

sao paulo

November 2, 2012
good restaurant

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Franck Thirion French Pastry & Cafe

Local

Aspen

April 15, 2011
Franck Thirion French Pastry is the real thing! It's Croissant and pastry are the same unbelievable goodness as waking up in Paris and walking to a boulangerie early in the morning. You just got to try it if you like real French Pastries!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Grateful Deli

Krista E.

January 11, 2009
Grateful Deli wins Best Cheap Eats in Aspen! (From Aspen Times Weekly January 11, 2009 Best Cheap Eats) As sometimes happens, those voting for Aspen's best get stuck in a single track as far as grabbing a quick meal is concerned, and for 2008 that track leads directly to the door of the Grateful Deli, 233 E. Main St. Now in its first full year of existence, the Deli pulled in more than twice the votes of its nearest competitor, beating the Big Wrap 54 to 24. No one else even came close. With a menu of sandwiches that echo with the names of Dead tunes (Shakedown, Bertha, Pigpen, Dark Star), veggie alternatives, as well as great meats, salads and sweets and not to mention a smile for customers even in the depths of the lunch rush and deli owner Joe Freeman and his crew have what Aspen likes for lunch.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Grub

Ben T.

Aspen

March 10, 2010
Be careful when ordering the salads at Grub. Three of the last four salads I have purchased from Grub have had slimy lettuce with black spots. (content removed*)on the Alpine Chicken Salad on each occasion. Additionally, you will get an extra surprise, on two occasions the chicken in the Alpine Chicken Salad has been replaced by tuna fish, mmmmmm. I guess the "chefs" are so busy that they forget the proper ingredients. You may ask, "why does this guy keep buying these salads?" The answer is that it is the only place open early in the morning and for Aspen, it is one of the few affordable options. *unsubstantiated claims removed

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Hickory House Ribs

Kabear

August 20, 2008
This was our 5th time in Aspen, but our 1st time at the Hickory House. It is now our favorite restaurant in Aspen for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Their baby back ribs are fantastic, perfect, meaty, tender, delicous. I had 1/2 slab for breakfast with the most delicious pancake I can ever remember eating. Their bacon is great too. Once we started eating there, we went nowhere else. We even walked eight miles round trip to the Hickory House for breakfast on our last full day in Aspen. It was a fantastic walk and a great breakfast. We then went back for dinner for our last night in Aspen. I had a full slab of baby back ribs with fries, etc. Great dinner. Very reasonable prices. Neither of us gained any weight from all those pancakes and ribs probably because we walked so much every day. We will be back and highly recommend it.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Highlands Alehouse

Laine

Aspen

April 11, 2014
Best nachos ever!!! They have continued the quality food from Highlands Pizza...but so much more! Delish!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

HOPS Culture

Peter

aspen

June 6, 2014
I think the build out they did to this location is fantastic and I really like the outdoor seating. Unfortunately, all the food we ordered (Shrimp toast, deviled eggs, mac N cheese, Eggplant sandwich) were sadly, very bad, actually not enjoyable in any way. This was really unfortunate but we had high hopes.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Hotel Jerome Living Room

Heidi

Telluride, CO

December 23, 2011
We went to The Library located in the Hotel Jerome the night before Christmas Eve as the rest of the town was so crowed. We were able to get a seat on some very comfy sofas right away. The atmosphere was perfect, not too loud so we were able to talk with out yelling. We got wonderful quick service and enjoyed the acoustic music being played in the corner of the bar. I tried the Aspen Crud, a milkshake like drink with lots of alcohol in it. The taste was great, but they did not put enough ice cream in it. Turned out to be like drinking cream. Their Cosmos are spot on. I would highly recommend the Library to anyone who wants some old time charm, great service, and good drinks!!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Ink! Coffee

prtykty

denver

May 16, 2009
The rude baristas are not worth the price of the coffee.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

J-Bar

Jamie C.

October 13, 2008
You must have a draft beer at the J Bar while you are in Aspen. Aptly named J Bar due to its location in the Hotel Jerome, the saloon offers a western ambience and a great happy-hour crowd.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Jimmy's Bar & Restaurant

Lynn B.

February 26, 2008
Tuesday evening at 6pm Jimmy's was extremely high energy! The AHI salad was delicious with a semi spicy dipping sauce. The service was efficient and attentitive.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Johnny McGuire's Deli

Micheal M

September 24, 2008
My favorite sandwiches anywhere in the world. When I lived in Aspen, I went here like twice a week. I like the Buddha, and the 220-B. Put Tapatio or Green Tabasco on whatever you get. SICK!!!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Jour de Fete

dmatkins

Aspen, CO

January 14, 2009
In a town that tends to range from the expensive to the obscenely expensive, Jour de Fete is a refreshingly cheap and delicious alternative. Jour de Fete is family owned and from my brief exchanges with the proprietor, who has always been welcoming to me, their family appreciates all of their customers. Regardless, the quality of the food is excellent and you can't beat the price in this town.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Justice Snow's

Denise

Lansing MI

February 15, 2012
Just had lunch at this recently opened restaurant. Knew I was in the right place when I walked in the door and the owner's dog was sitting on his bed right inside the door. I had to stay! Had a very leisurly lunch and didn't feel rushed at all. Service was excellent ( Etan) Tempura pickles were the best fried pickles I have ever had. Also had the pork sandwich which was very tasty! Decor is way cool. Loved the way the check is presented in a mason jar! Owner was on site and made me feel like an old friend. Can't wait to come back next year. A definite place to go!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Kenichi

Dreamer (10+ Reviews)

February 24, 2008
It all started with us both being in town after work "Wanna get an appetizer somewhere?" Sure! but where? How about the bar at Kenichi? O.K. Upon entry the bar was full and the choice was a tiny two top at the head of the dinning room or the sushi bar. Feeling a bit shy at the moment I was leaning toward the tiny two top when my partner pushed me toward the sushi bar. Well O.K. It seems a must to start with edamame while at a sushi joint, so I did but with the Spicy edamame, a nice little Kenichi twist. I don't know how they prepare it but this I will try again and again to recreate in my own kitchen…. A big Sapporo for me, a Kenichi Martini for her, some friendly chatter with the waitress, and great service from the sushi chef led us two one after another of additions to our appetizer. After the spicy tempura shrimp, my favorite Austin roll (asparagus tempura and masago aioli wrapped in edamame paper topped with eel sauce), 2 shrimp tempura rolls, and an avocado roll, our little appetizer had turned into a complete dinner. No dessert this time, thanks. And did you know that guy next to you is really famous in Brazil!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

La Palapa (closed)

Sara D.

Briarcliff Manor, N

August 17, 2009
The ambiance and pricing do not match the quality and value of the food. Cancun shrimp appetizer tasty but 7 small shrimp for $13? The menu & pricing does not suggest 'Mexican joint' but with the casual atmosphere, you'd expect lower prices. Hopefully there will be good lunch specials!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Little Annie's Bar & Restaurant

Francis L.

March 3, 2008
I remember the last time I went to Little Annie's Eating House. Over three years ago I entered the bar at 2:00 in the afternoon, well after the lunch rush. I had the urge for one of their excellent Rueben sandwiches. It came with fries. Horrible, double-dipped, dark brown, twice-cooked, greasy blistered wedges of surefire heartburn. No doubt, they were left stranded from the lunch hour and returned to the foul grease of the deep-fryer after sitting in the basket for who knows how long. Plus, the Rueben was cold inside, the cheese unmelted. In the past I'd spent enough money on booze and burgers at Annie's to be a stockholder. The bartender was indifferent, while the chef sat at the end of the bar reading the paper. I vowed never to return. That was until last Saturday night. Convinced by my friends to have dinner there before the Adrian Belew concert at the Belly Up, I reticently returned. We were greeted warmly by the waitstaff and hostess. After cocktails we were promptly seated at our table. Jane, the hostess treated us to appetizers. Fried shrimp and onion rings, they were piping hot and evidently the fryer was clean. After a little confusion in the crowded dining room, we were served a fine meal, by a waiter who aimed to please. It's now safe to go back in the water. Peace, Love and Doughnuts,

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Little Ollie's Asian Cafe

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

Aspen

June 18, 2009
I can't keep up with the name changes, Little Ollies, China Thai, Tang and back to LIttle Ollies. During the last name change the menu has changed. (Prices are cheaper! yippee! Also Little Ollie's serves noodle bowls. I tried the Korean spicy noodle bowl with shrimp. I enjoyed the noodles and the broth but the shrimp were a little overcooked. The bowl for dinner cost around $11, but there are also cheaper noodle bowls ($7.95). The service was quick and friendly. I might have to try another noodle bowl.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Louis Swiss Pastry

Edi (10+ Reviews)

Aspen, CO

March 4, 2009
Stopped by early morning to get some pastries. Cheery and helpful. Good croissants and great ciabatta.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

L'Hostaria Ristorante

Aspen Chef

March 2, 2008
After calling Cache Cache, Jimmy's, and several others I finally got a last minute reservation at 8:30 to L'Hostaria. The restaurant was very busy and the few tables left weren't open for very long. Starting with a glass of Ritz Pinot Noir ($10) and appetizers of Salmon and Tuna Tartar over greens ($18), which honestly didn't have much flavor to either of us. Then on to Crispy Calamari ($15) with a spicy red sauce, calamari is temper mental and tends to turn rubbery when overcooked, so there will always be a couple that just go a little over or under. For dinner I chose the Osso bucco with Saffron Risotto ($31). Like Calamari, if it is on the menu I will order it. I thought it was fantastic. Our server suggested the Pork version, after we had finished dinner, and if there were any specials we didn't hear those either. The food was wonderful. The service was acceptable. We did receive our second glasses of wine at the local’s discount of $6 a glass. The environment was that of a busy restaurant. I wouldn't suggest date night, but for friends just hanging out with a little money to spend, go for it. Call and reserve a table a couple of days in advance, and remember just because your server is in a hurry, doesn't mean you have to be in a hurry.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Main Street Bakery

Mike B.

January 12, 2009
Excellent breakfast in the last three days we have had eggs, pancakes, and egg sandwiches, It is a nice place with very friendly staff.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Matsuhisa

Maria S.

January 11, 2009
My co-worker and I were treated to an extraordinary meal here by a very generous person and I think we ate everything on the menu and many things off-menu. You wonder where fresh fish is coming from in Aspen, and I'll just say that based on some of the prices, it's well taken care of between Japan and FedEx. Honestly the parade of food was beyond, and somehow we found room for all of it. I especially learned to appreciate the hand-rolls, something I don't normally order when I go out to sushi. The freshness and quality were excellent, and we could not go wrong with their amazing wine list. Manager Christian Henrichon was especially helpful and super knowledgeable about wine. Yum!! (bring your platinum card of Amex black!)

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

McDonalds

Alex

Aspen

March 8, 2014
It's McDonald's what do you really expect.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

McKenney's at The Inn

Alison

Aspen

May 6, 2011
We love the Elkhorn! The pizza is great! Super laid back atmosphere! Love the bartenders/waitstaff. On the bus route with plenty of parking also.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

The Meatball Shack

Out and About

Basalt

July 1, 2012
Outstanding! The food is fantastic, and the concept is well executed. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is laid back. I find all to often in Aspen, you either go to a very high-end restaurant and get great food, or go to a dive and get okay food. It is nice to go somewhere easy going with FANTASTIC food. The buffalo chicken sandwich is AMAZING! They have a great balance of a fun bar scene coupled with being family/kid friendly, a hard act to find, but they do it impeccably! Will definitely frequent this place often! The owners Eddie and Mike make it a point to be involved which is so refreshing to be able to chat with the people that created this awesome place, sure to become a staple in Aspen. Thanks guys!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Merry-Go-Round

Dreamer (10+ Reviews)

February 25, 2008
Lunch again at Merry go Round. It was a powder day and the snow was so good, I needed to refuel around 1:30 so I could keep going. Went with the ultra budget option, the soup “Jamaican Spinach” with lots of crackers. Soup was good, like a cream of spinach; how it was Jamaican I’m not sure. Also had a side of fries (mixed sweet potato and regular fries) with lots of condiments. The regular fries could have been crisper while the sweet potato fries were too crispy. Good thing I went with the mix to even them out.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Mezzaluna

Volpone

October 13, 2008
It's been awhile since I've been back, but the food was very good. The wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Fair selections of wines by the glass. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good meal.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

New York Pizza

Bad Andy

February 29, 2008
Last night I was rushing to catch a flick at the Wheeler and popped into NY Pizza. Hoping to grab a slice, eat quickly and go to the film, I was quite disappointed. The counter help was surly and un-responsive, the selection of slices all appeared cold and past their born-on dates. When I inquired "how long for a pepperoni slice?" the clerk said " twenty minutes". Just a thought, but if a pizza place is going to charge $5 for a slice, wouldn't it be nice if they had one ready, or at least "almost" ready.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Paradise Bakery

Victor B.

July 3, 2008
If you're in the mood for some after-dinner decadence, Paradise Bakery will not disappoint. My favorites are their Black Diamond cookies and their super rich brownies, but others swear by their ice cream and gelato. After grabbing your loot, see if you can find a seat outside to enjoy the live outdoor music while you eat.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Peach's Corner Cafe

Tom

Laguna Beach, CA

April 2, 2010
Amazing food, atmosphere, organic coffees.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Pie in the Sky

Ian Grimes

Honolulu

November 23, 2012
Immensely satisfied by the Banana's Foster. Pie in the sky is my go to choice when I need to bring something to a party or I want to give something nice to somebody.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Pine Creek Cookhouse

Alex D

Aspen, CO

January 16, 2008
If you visit Aspen and you're trying to get that authentic Rocky Mountain experience, you really do need to dine at the Pine Creek Cookhouse. I prefer lunch because views of the valley are amazing, summer or winter. If you REALLY want that Rocky Mountain experience, you need to bike there in the summer (13 miles each way) or cross-country ski there in the winter (1 mile or so each way). I recommend reservations for lunch and dinner, but if you want to go mid-week in the summer for lunch, you will probably get away without one. If the weather is nice, sit on the patio and wear sunscreen! Did I mention the food? The quail salad is consistently good.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Pinon's

Steve D.

July 15, 1948
Last month we had friends visiting in town, and they wanted to treat us to dinner at Pinons, and what a treat it was. I have dined there several times over the many years they have been in town, and every time the meal is fantastic! Without a doubt, one of Aspens very finest.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Plato's Restaurant

John T. (10+ Reviews)

January 21, 2008
Plato's space at the Aspen Institute has been, in one incarnation or another, an acceptable safe harbor when seeking a good meal between events at the Music Tent and Movie Festival. The relatively new chef, who revived the place a year plus ago, seems to have lost interest. Things started out a bit roughly; the music (jazz) in this center of intellectual fervor was blasting, the amuse-bouche of oyster with veggies and parmesan was a nice try but both bad product and execution and the lettuce in my Colorado green salad had browned stalk cuts (no charge after I conspicuously cut them further off and pointed them out to our waitstaff) Since the chef was in the salle chatting up one table of notables while my salad was being prepared, it is possible the salad guy just got lax and he (the chef) did not pass on the final plating, but one of the waiters should have caught it. However, once the chef returned to the piano, things picked up: Colette's Colorado peach/champagne soup was pretty good, I loved her lamb (short) riblets with mint BBQ rub and tolerated my angel hair pasta with nice pancetta on a bed of parsley pesto. Our bill with wine before tip with no coffee or dessert was $66.25. More at eGullet

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Poppycock's Restaurant

sam

January 5, 2008
this place sucks. it is very small and the food was awful in my opinion. also, the waiter didn't know what to do

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Prospect at the Jerome

Carolyn

Dallas

July 1, 2013
Abysmal service on a Monday night w full patio but empty inside. Every step of meal took forever, even seeing waiter for first time. Soda water took 15-20 min and my husband never got his bar drink bc we ended the experience while waiting for it. Took 25-plus minutes to get cold appetizers. Large party next to us walked out after the bread bc no waitstaff came. We left prior to getting main dish bc everything took so long. Not sure what was up or if a frequent issue since re-opening. Disappointing visit.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Prospect Terrace

john Talbott

Paris/Baltimore

August 10, 2011
We arrived 8ish and without a reservation headed to my Dad's old haunt, the Jerome Hotel, now vastly improved from those days, to eat in the garden at a combined J-Bar/Garden Resto. It was a lovely evening, no better setting in which one could eat. Colette had the chicken chibata (aka sandwich, which as opposed to Jack Nicolson's in Five Easy Pieces, they were most happy to serve deconstructed) with fries and an heirloom tomato slice and sauted onions; she declared the chicken quite good. I had what I'd had last year, the spicy chicken wings, in homage to the Anchor Grill where my ex-classmate/colleague/friend introduced Calvin Trillan to them years ago; this year they were clearly raised on steroids, huge chunks of meat, delightfully peppery, accompanied with the traditional celery strips and Roquefort dressing. With a bottle of Chianti and no bottled water or coffee our bill (marked Jacob's Corner, yet another resto name) before tip was $64.31.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Pyramid Bistro

aspenlover

houston

January 8, 2011
The veggie burger is inedible. The restaurant is new, so hopefully they can improve, and fast. I loved (and used to waitress) at Explore bistro But Pyramid is a dissapointment so far. Pretentious ("this is Our take on ketchup"), out-of-stock (no lemonade, black tea, limeade) (the choice of beverages is limited to water or berry tea),...very dissapointing meal.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

R&R (closed)

Paula prikryl

Aspen

August 5, 2014
Loved it,sat on the patio service was great food was great going back again tonight!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Red Mountain Grill

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

Aspen

February 1, 2009
We ate at the Red Mountain Grill which sits on the Aspen Public Golf course on Super Bowl Sunday. The place was pretty empty but everyone was probably at a super-bowl party. We had great service! Our waiter was very helpful, attentive, and knowledgeable on the food. I split a bowl of vegetarian chili with my boyfriend. It had just the right amount of spice. The other couple we were with split the vegan tomato soup and they enjoyed it. My main dish was the ahi stir fry. My boyfriend had the fish and chips and the other couple both had the shrimp po-boy. Every enjoyed their meal. They have plenty of parking since it is part of the golf course. We live outside of town so it was very convenient. I think we will go there again!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Red Onion

Scott

Aspen

June 16, 2010
I was looking forward to the reopening of the new Onion. The restoration is a good job. The food and service are less desirable. I will spend time at the bar, Leave your money for the drinks

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Rustique Bistro

Ben B.

December 24, 2008
Rustique remains one of our favorite restaurants in Aspen, We dined at Rustique with our family of seven over the Christmas holiday and had our usually great service. The food is exceptionally flavorful, we all enjoyed the escargots, and the bread served in a paper bag is hot, soft and popular with the whole family. One point to note, we attempted to book a Dec 20 reservation several weeks in advance for our party of seven, but were told we had to pay a $50 per person deposit, which we never do. We called for a reservation on Dec 20 and our party got right in. There are very few Aspen restaurants that require an advance deposit and we encourage Rustique to drop this practice.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Ryno's Pies & Pints

Mike

Austin

December 19, 2012
Food was awesome! Great selection of Colorado beers, great service, and really good 80's music! Definitely my new place to hang out.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Snowmass Kitchen

Yvonne

Snowmass Village

December 19, 2012
Have actually been there twice, for a breakfast and a lunch. Although the food is good, we thought the prices were too high to really become a place that people gather. The service was also way below what we would have expected from a Westin property. Everyone in town has been very excited for them to open and to have a fun, tasty (and affordable) restaurant that is convenient from the mall. We will be sticking to our dependable local's favorite in Snowmass. Maybe the Snowmass Kitchen just needs some time..but then, they will need a way to convince the people I know to come back.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Spring Cafe

Bridget

Aspen

October 26, 2013
Love the food. Love the mostly vegan menu choices. Service has been rocky since they opened but does seem to be slowly improving. If the windows/doors to the patio are not open, the place is painfully, obnoxiously loud. But it's really just too expensive. The coconut tofu bites are divine but $11 for five small cubes of tofu? Likewise, the stuffed mushrooms I enjoyed today: wonderful. But $12 for five small mushroom caps? Look, I know this is Aspen but for a counter service cafe, this is just too pricey.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

The Square Grouper

Winter Sullivan

Aspen, CO

May 31, 2013
Great service, great atmosphere, amazing food!! If you only go to one restaurant in Aspen - this is the place.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Starbuck's Coffee

Pedro

Aspen

February 10, 2010
I've been to Starbuck's in many cities and on multiple continents. This is the worst Starbuck's I've ever been to! It's the slowest by far, and the coffee never tastes quite "Starbucks" right. It does open early and is located conveniently to Gondola.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Steakhouse No. 316

W

Aspen

September 16, 2011
4 of us had dinner and ordered 3 different steaks, New York, Bone in Fillet and Flat Iron. All were very "chewy". The formula for this restaurant is to charge for everything individually except water and bread and butter. The steaks were served in a pan with a 1/2 clove of garlic and a sprig of green. If you wanted a sauce, it was extra. If you wanted a vegetable, it was extra. The price on the steaks was high and the quality of the meat was average supermarket quality. *Restaurant Response We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your previous dining experience. The restaurant's concept of individual plated items is unique but is specifically designed to cater to diners individual tastes. The Steakhouse staff, management, and owners would all like to invite you back for dinner and make sure you have a great experience. -Craig Cordts-Pearce / Owner

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Su Casa Restaurant & Taqueria

Elizabeth W.

February 27, 2008
I have to say that for years, I have loved eating at Su Casa. My favorite thing to do is to sit with friends in the bar area and munch on appetizers. I especially love the ceviche. The margaritas are amazing, and so is the salsa. The location of Su Casa is also a plus, since we always go there before going to a show at the Wheeler Opera House. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Sundeck on Aspen Mt.

Dreamer (10+ Reviews)

February 21, 2008
Had lunch at the Sundeck while skiing Ajax yesterday. Ordered the Veggie Soba noodles from the Wok station. I added a little spice with the bottle of Sarracha on hand. The noodle bowl was really tasty and filling. Aspen Mountain prices, but can't beat the Sundeck's great views, huge ceilings, and hanging by the fireplace. Fortune cookie read, "All good things rise to the top"

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Takah Sushi

Leslie R.

April 3, 2007
Owned by a local, frequented by locals, and I only heard raves when compared to the other sushi establishments in town. We rolled in on a Friday night and managed to snag a seat right away, despite that the place seemed packed, and we had actually just been told at Kenichi that we were looking at a 45 minute wait. The veggie spring rolls were delicious, exploding with all sorts of unique flavors. The sushi rolls did the trick, though they weren't quite as memorable. Service was quick and friendly, and the crowd provided ample people-watching opportunities as we sipped our hot sake.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Taster's Pizza Aspen

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

September 24, 2008
After we saw the movie "Flash of Genius" at the Aspen Film Festival a couple of us headed over to Tasters Pizza in Aspen. We were able to park right outside, which is a huge plus! Tasters had a couple of other customers but we quickly ordered a salad, beers, and a large pizza. Tasters Pizza has one of my favorite salad's! The spinach salad has candied walnuts, feta cheese, tomatoes and basalmic vinaigrette! Yummy! We split the large salad between the three of us. Soon the pizza arrived and it was delicious! I love their pizza!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Trecento Quindici Decano

Coates

Aspen

September 13, 2014
Not good. No atmosphere, wait staff inexperienced, food very so-so.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Upper Crust

John T. (10+ Reviews)

July 21, 2008
Sabra's Deli, where the old Bagel Bites at Clark's market used to be, is really misnamed. It's really a pan-Middle Eastern schwarma/gyros/couscous/salad and pita shop, hardly a deli. It was described as "new" and "real good" by Stewart Oksenhorn, fine food finder for the Aspen Times, and I have to agree. For a hole-in-the-wall place, it has a large menu, three chefs, almost as many front-room folks, and an atmosphere of quiet competence. Colette had the Israeli salad of chopped cukes, lettuce, tomatoes, onion, etc with pita and Baba ghanoush and I the gyros plate (instead of the schwarma) with fries that had an intriguing tang. Our bill was $20.90 without dessert or drinks or coffee. More at eGullet

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Victoria's Espresso & Wine Bar

Elizabeth W.

December 17, 2008
I met a friend at the new place located in the old Ben and Jerry's building for breakfst and coffee. The new place is called Victoria's Coffee and Wine Bar and is a very pleasant little restaurant. Great location, and Victoria is very friendly. It took forever to get my coffee, but my breakfast sandwich and coffee were delicious.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

WC3

Joe R.

Gulf Breeze Fl.

July 2, 2009
Great soup. Gazpacho nice and chunky. Fabulous curry chicken salad. All made fresh there.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

The White House Tavern

Karen

Ponte Vedra Brach, Fl

May 12, 2013
Happened into this quaint restaurant our first night in Aspen and became a part of it's "soft opening". What a wonderful surprise! The Colorado lamb sandwich is piled high with meat, the roll tasted homemade and like a brioche. But, the best part of the meal was the kale salad! Flavors blended beautifully so, naturally I had to ask about the ingredients - will try to replicate at home but doubt I'll get it. Great prices in a pricey town - wait staff was helpful and friendly. We're going back before heading home. Only suggestion - add something sweet to complete the meal for us "sweet toothsome."

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Wild Fig Restaurant

TripsAhoy

August 1, 2008
We went to the Wild Fig for lunch in July and had a fantastic meal.. The mojitos were very fresh and had great flavor, and the pasta dish I ordered was one of the best meals I have ever had, anywhere in the US. While it was not a cheap meal at all ($160 for three people at lunch) - it was delicious. We went several other places while in Aspen on vacation, but never found a better meal! Highly recommended.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Willow Creek Bistro

Eat Aspen Review Team DK

Aspen

February 22, 2010
Willow Creek is right at the bottom of our favorite mountain, Aspen Highlands. Adjoining the Ritz Residence Club steps away from the lift. They've loosened their sleeves quite a bit this past winter and started to cater to the local Apres Ski scene. They now offer reasonably priced drinks as well as fresh BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. Add a little live music on the weekends and you've got a nice little scene. We enjoyed a pulled pork sandwich, a gourmet grilled cheese, truffle parmesan fries, and a gruyere cheeseburger,. Great service, great location, & Great Food!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Woody Creek Tavern

HoustonFoodCritic

Houston, Texas

July 4, 2010
This out-of-the-way nook is the best kept secret in Aspen. The service is personable and the atmosphere is a quirky nod to small-town America. The food is what one would expect from a tavern. The portions are large and the menu features plenty of fried options. The food always tastes fresh and you will never feel rushed to order or eat, even on a busy day. Bring your friends, order a beer, and settle in for delicious comfort food. Warning: BRING CASH. This is a cash-only restaurant.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Zane's Tavern Aspen

Aspen Spin

Aspen

March 1, 2009
Philly Cheesesteaks are not the easiest item to authentically reproduce. In fact, i made a promise to myself never to eat one outside Pa. During an Eagles game somebody mentioned that Zane's has a great Philly. I didn't believe it until i tried it for myself. Its not Pat's or Gino's, but its pretty close. I'd call it excellent.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Zeno Aspen

Alex

Aspen

March 23, 2014
The female manager was incredibly rude when we asked if a server could come to our table outside after we had been patiently waiting for quite some time. Before being confronted by the manager, we had tried to place an order through the bartender who was very helpful and sweet, although she was completely slammed. After the manager approached us we saw her pull the bartender aside and get angry at her for trying to help us at the bar when we were sitting outside. We ended up leaving without ordering anything more and tipping the bartender well.

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking

Zocalito Bistro

Pig E. (10+ Reviews)

Aspen

March 6, 2009
I have heard all about Zocalito bar special this winter. What a great deal it is! If you eat at the bar between 9 & 10pm, you receive half off your bar order! Three of us squeezed into a bar table even-though there wasn't much room. We wanted the half off special. Two margaritas and one sangria was ordered with cheese guacamole. The tortilla chips were very fresh and the guacamole was great! I had the fish tacos which came with three tacos. The tacos were very fresh and tasty. My companions both had the cheese quesadillas. My friend, Bob, said it wasn't the best quesadilla but you couldn't beat the price in Aspen. The bartender who served us seemed very frazzled and overwhelmed. He was the only one taking care of the bar and the entire restaurant. We wanted him to relax a bit. Other customers noticed it too. Overall we had 5 drinks, one shared appetizer, and three bar entrees for $55, not including tip. Best Deal In Aspen!

Food

Service

Atmosphere

Value

Noise

Parking